Sunday, September 19, 2010

Award-Winning Books

The ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) Annual Conference began Friday and will end tomorrow in Indianapolis. Tonight the Carol Awards (formerly Book of the Year; recently renamed in honor of Carol Johnson, long-time editor and fiction advocate) were presented. Congratulations to the winners:

Contemporary Novella: Susan May Warren for The Great Christmas Bowl (Tyndale House; Karen Watson, Editor)
Historical Novella: Janet Tronstad for Christmas Bells for Dry Creek (Steeple Hill; Tina James, Editor)
Short Contemporary: Mae Nunn for A Texas Ranger's Family (Steeple Hill; Melissa Endlich, Editor)
Short Contemporary Suspense: Jill Elizabeth Nelson for Evidence of Murder (Steeple Hill; Emily Rodmell, Editor)
Short Historical: Dan Walsh for The Unfinished Gift (Revell, Andrea Doering) (My review)
Young Adult: Jenny B. Jones for I'm So Sure (Thomas Nelson; Natalie Hanemann/Jamie Chavez, Editors)
Long Contemporary: Christina Berry for The Familiar Stranger (Moody Publishers; Paul Santhouse, Editor) (My review)
Long Contemporary Romance: Jenny B. Jones for Just Between You and Me (Thomas Nelson; Natalie Hanemann/Jamie Chavez, Editors) (My review)
Mystery: A.K. Arenz for The Case of the Mystified M.D. (Sheaf House; Joan M. Shoup, Editor)
Suspense/Thriller: Terri Blackstock for Intervention (Zondervan; Sue Brower/Dave Lambert, Editors) (My review)
Long Historical: Allison Pittman for Stealing Home Multnomah; Alice Crider, Editor) (My review)
Long Historical Romance: Mary Connealy for Cowboy Christmas (Barbour Publishing; Rebecca Germany, Editor)
Speculative: Kirk Outerbridge for Eternity Falls (Marcher Lord Press; Jeff Gerke, Editor)
Women's Fiction: Rene Gutteridge & Cheryl McKay for Never the Bride (Waterbrook Press; Shannon Marchese, Editor)
Debut Author: Dan Walsh for The Unfinished Gift (Revell; Andrea Doering, Editor)

They also presented the Genesis Awards (open to ACFW members unpublished in adult or young adult fiction in the last seven years). Winners are:

o Contemporary Fiction: Lynnette P. Horner, The Assistant
o Contemporary Romance: Janice LaQuiere, Truckload of Love
o Historical Fiction: Brenda Jackson, Principle Engagement
o Historical Romance: Pam Hillman, Terms of Indenturement
o Mystery/Suspense/Thriller: Rich Bullock, Storm Lake/Storm Song
o Romantic Suspense: Valerie Goree, Weep in the Night
o Speculative Fiction: Andra Marquardt, Traitors
o Women’s Fiction: Jennifer Fromke, Docking
o Young Adult: Stefanie Morris, Shyla, Desert Daughter/Shyla, Child of the Desert

Other notable awards presented:
Mentor of the Year: Susan May Warren
Member Service Award: Fay Lamb
Editor of the Year: Sue Brower, Zondervan
Agent of the Year: Sandra Bishop, MacGregor Literary
ACFW Lifetime Achievement Award: Carol Johnson

Congratulations to all the winners, and thanks to them and the other nominees for writing such fantastic books!


View blog reactions

1 comment:

quilly said...

Oh man, I haven't read any of these books! Am I missing all of the best stuff?