Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Take a Chance on Me

Take a Chance on Me
(Christiansen Family Series)
Susan May Warren
(Tyndale House)
ISBN: 978-1414378411
March 2013/352 pages/$13.99

Darek Christiansen is almost a dream bachelor—oldest son in the large Christiansen clan, heir to their historic Evergreen Lake Resort, and doting father. But he’s also wounded and angry since the tragic death of his wife, Felicity. No woman in Deep Haven dares come near.

New assistant county attorney Ivy Madison simply doesn’t know any better when she bids on Darek at the charity auction. Nor does she know that when she crafted a plea bargain three years ago to keep Jensen Atwood out of jail and in Deep Haven fulfilling community service, she was releasing the man responsible for Felicity’s death. All Ivy knows is that the Christiansens feel like the family she’s always longed for. And once she gets past Darek’s tough exterior, she finds a man she could spend the rest of her life with. Which scares her almost as much as Darek learning of her involvement in his wife’s case.

Caught between new love and old grudges, Darek must decide if he can set aside the past for a future with Ivy—a future more and more at risk as an approaching wildfire threatens to wipe out the Christiansen resort and Deep Haven itself.

Susan May Warren talks about this novel and this new series in this wonderful (and brief!) video:


Susan May Warren is the bestselling, RITA Award–winning author of more than forty novels whose compelling plots and unforgettable characters have won acclaim with readers and reviewers alike. She served with her husband and four children as a missionary in Russia for eight years before she and her family returned home to the States. She now writes full-time as her husband runs a lodge on Lake Superior in northern Minnesota, where many of her books are set. She and her family enjoy hiking, canoeing, and being involved in their local church.
Susan holds a BA in mass communications from the University of Minnesota. Several of her critically acclaimed novels have been ECPA and CBA bestsellers, were chosen as Top Picks by Romantic Times, and have won the RWA's Inspirational Reader's Choice contest and the American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year award. Five of her books have been Christy Award finalists. In addition to her writing, Susan loves to teach and speak at women's events about God's amazing grace in our lives.

For exciting updates on her new releases, previous books, and more, connect with her online via her:


Susan May Warren kicks off her new series with a novel that immediately pulled me in with endearing characters. From the opening scene at the charity auction, I knew I was in for a great read! (Actually, they had me at the cover with that precious picture!) This one of those books that make you think the characters are going to walk off the page, and you feel every emotion with them. Of course, Darek (and his son!) and Ivy were favorites of mine, but I also was so touched by Jensen's story and longed for him to find peace. Family relationships, friendship, the domino effects of choices and misunderstandings and grudges, the importance of faith and forgiveness-and romance, of course!-are just a few of the themes of this wonderful book. I absolutely loved it and am already looking forward to reading more about this family!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received an advanced copy of this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


View blog reactions

1 comment:

Beth said...

Love this author! Can't wait to read this one!