Friday, May 6, 2016

Sins of the Past

Sins of the Past
A Romantic Suspense Novella Collection
Dee Henderson, Dani Pettrey,
Lynette Eason
(Bethany House)
ISBN: 978-0764217975
April 2016/384 pages/$14.99

Secrets and Lies. Danger That Will Never Go Away.
Join Three Beloved Masters of Romantic Suspense for Novellas Where the Past Will Not Stay Buried.

Dee Henderson - Missing
A Wyoming sheriff is called to Chicago when his elderly mother goes missing from her retirement community. Paired with a savvy Chicago cop, the two soon launch into a race against the clock when they realize something dark may lie at the heart of the disappearance.

Dani Pettrey - Shadowed
Adventure, romance, and danger collide when a young Alaskan fisherman nets the body of a Russian open water swimming competitor. Another swimmer, who'd been the dead woman's roommate years ago, is pulled into the search for answers as it grows more and more clear that something sinister is at play.

Lynette Eason - Blackout
A young woman once implicated in a robbery gone wrong finds herself at risk years later when the real culprit is up for parole. The loot taken that night has never been found and he believes she knows where it's hidden--only her memory of that night has always been unreliable. Can she remember enough to find her way to safety?

"These entertaining, fast-paced mysteries will keep readers guessing and engaged throughout. The chilling stories work well together and also easily stand alone."--RT Book Reviews

Read an excerpt.


Dee Henderson is the author of numerous novels, including Taken, Undetected, Unspoken, Full Disclosure, and the acclaimed O'Malley and Uncommon Heroes series. Her books have won or been nominated for several prestigious industry awards, such as the RITA Award, the Christy Award, and the ECPA Gold Medallion. Dee is a lifelong resident of Illinois. Learn more at

Photo Credit:
(c)  Michael Pettrey
Dani Pettrey is a wife, home-schooling mom, and the acclaimed author of the Alaskan Courage romantic suspense series, which includes her bestselling novels Submerged, Shattered, Stranded, Silenced, and Sabotaged. Her books have been honored with the Daphne du Maurier award, two HOLT Medallions, two National Readers' Choice Awards, the Gail Wilson Award of Excellence, and Christian Retailing's Best Award, among others.

She feels blessed to write inspirational romantic suspense because it incorporates so many things she loves--the thrill of adventure, nail-biting suspense, the deepening of her characters' faith, and plenty of romance. She and her husband reside in Maryland, where they enjoy time with their two daughters, a son-in-law, and a super adorable grandson. You can find her online at

Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of the Women of Justice series and the Deadly Reunions series, as well as No One to Trust, Nowhere to Turn, and No Place to Hide in the Hidden Identity series. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and Romance Writers of America. She has a master's degree in education from Converse College and she lives in South Carolina. Learn more at


I always enjoy novella collections because the combination gives the book the overall length I prefer and because it also gives me an opportunity to try an author I'm less familiar with. These three enjoyable stories are tied together only by the theme of past situations impacting the characters.

Missing by Dee Henderson is a unique story about a cop's elderly mother who disappears from her assisted living facility. The characters were engaging and I particularly enjoyed the setting since I work in a skilled nursing facility. My one disappointment was that the resolution was pretty obvious fairly early in the story, although the "why" wasn't clear until much later.

Dani Pettrey's Shadowed is a prequel to her Alaskan Courage series and portrays the story of the McKenna parents in their young adult years. I loved how the title coordinated with the rest of the series and the tie-in to the Cold War and the fierce competition between the US and Russian athletes. Pettrey once again kept me glued to the pages of this compelling story.

One of my favorite suspense authors, Lynette Eason always writes a chilling story, and Blackout is no exception. Plenty of action and heart-pounding moments fill this story that is best read well before bedtime, especially if you are a female who lives alone! Several unexpected twists kept me guessing until the end.

Sins of the Past is a great read for the present. Don't miss it!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Baker/Bethany House Publishers as part of a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


View blog reactions

No comments: