Thursday, August 17, 2017

Chasing Secrets

Chasing Secrets
Elite Guardians
Lynette Eason
ISBN: 9780800723910
August 2017/336 pages/$14.99

Intensity. Skill. Tenacity.
The bodyguards of Elite Guardians Agency have it all.

When a photo leads investigators in West Ireland to open a twenty-five-year-old cold case, Elite Guardians bodyguard Haley Callaghan's life is suddenly in danger. Haley knows how to take care of herself; after all, she's made a career out of taking care of others. But after she has an uncomfortably close call, Detective Steven Rothwell takes it upon himself to stay with her--and the young client she has taken under her wing. A protector at heart, he's not about to let Haley fight this battle alone.

In a sweeping plot that takes them into long-buried memories--and the depths of the heart--Haley and Steven will have to solve the mystery of Haley's past while dodging bullets, bombs, and bad guys who just won't quit.

Read an excerpt.


Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of the Women of Justice series, the Deadly Reunions series, and the Hidden Identity series, as well as Always Watching, Without Warning, Moving Target, and Chasing Secrets in the Elite Guardians series. She is the winner of two ACFW Carol Awards, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Readers' Choice Award. She has a master's degree in education from Converse College and lives in South Carolina. Learn more at


Intensity. Suspense. Thrilling Romance.
Lynette Eason's final Elite Guardians novel has it all.

When I open a novel by Lynette Eason I take a deep breath, knowing it may be a while before I take another one, and Chasing Secrets definitely stretched my lung capacity! Eason immediately plunges the reader into the emotion and danger of this story and doesn't let up until the final page is turned. Each time I endeavored to stop at the end of a chapter, I found it impossible to set it aside. Filled with characters I either liked or suspected (sometimes at the same time!) as well as unrelenting action and a decades-old mystery, Chasing Secrets kept me up until the wee hours. I'm usually pretty good at sniffing out the culprit but Eason surprised me once again. A phenomenal finale to an outstanding series, I heartily recommend it as well as the previous (standalone but connected) novels. Chasing Secrets is a great way to wind down your summer reading list!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from Baker/Revell Publishing. I was not required to write a review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”



View blog reactions

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

The Return

The Return
Amish Beginnings
Suzanne Woods Fisher
ISBN: 978-0800727505
August 2017/338 pages/$15.99

In a wild country, the true cost of love may be more than they can bear.

Beautiful and winsome, Betsy Zook never questioned her family's rigid expectations, nor those of devoted Hans--but then she never had to. Not until the night she's taken captive in a surprise Indian raid. Facing brutality and hardship, Betsy finds herself torn between her pious upbringing and the feelings she's developing for a native man who encourages her to see God in all circumstances.

Greatly anguished by Betsy's captivity, Hans turns to Tessa Bauer for comfort. She responds eagerly, overlooking troubling signs of Hans's hunger for revenge. But if Betsy is ever restored to the Amish, will things between Hans and Tessa have gone too far?

Inspired by true events, this deeply layered novel gives a glimpse into the tumultuous days of prerevolutionary Pennsylvania through the eyes of two young, determined, and faith-filled women.

Read an excerpt.


Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including Anna's Crossing, The Newcomer, and The Return in the Amish Beginnings series, The Bishop's Family series, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. She lives in California. Learn more at and follow Suzanne on Twitter @suzannewfisher.


Suzanne Woods Fisher closes out her Amish Beginnings series with another intriguing novel. I have enjoyed this series that depicts the early days of the Amish community in the colonies. This book stands alone but reading the first two books will reward the reader with a richer experience as there are a few references in this final book to earlier happenings. Fisher creates scenes that pulsate with emotion. I was capitvated - no pun intended! - by Betsy's situation and particularly liked how Fisher used it to mature her. I held my breath several times as I read, uncertain that the outcome would be what I hoped. Don't miss this book and series!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a digital copy of this book from Suzanne Woods Fisher and Baker/Revell Publishing. I was not required to write a review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”



View blog reactions