Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Review - Breach of Trust

This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

Breach Of Trust

Tyndale House Publishers (February 5, 2009)


DiAnn Mills

Award-winning author, DiAnn Mills, launched her career in 1998 with the publication of her first book. Currently she has over forty books in print and has sold more than a million copies.

DiAnn believes her readers should “Expect an Adventure.” DiAnn Mills is a fiction writer who combines an adventuresome spirit with unforgettable characters to create action-packed novels.

Six of her anthologies have appeared on the CBA Best Seller List. Three of her books have won the distinction of Best Historical of the Year by Heartsong Presents. Five of her books have won placements through American Christian Fiction Writer’s Book of the Year Awards 2003 – 2007, and she is the recipient of the Inspirational Reader’s Choice award for 2005 and 2007. She was a Christy Awards finalist in 2008.

DiAnn is a founding board member for American Christian Fiction Writers, a member of Inspirational Writers Alive, Romance Writers of America’s Faith, Hope and Love, and Advanced Writers and Speakers Association. She speaks to various groups and teaches writing workshops around the country. DiAnn is also a mentor for Jerry B. Jenkins Christian Writer’s Guild.

She lives in sunny Houston, Texas. DiAnn and her husband have four adult sons and are active members of Metropolitan Baptist Church.

Paige Rogers survived every CIA operative’s worst nightmare.

A covert mission gone terribly wrong.

A betrayal by the one man she thought she could trust.

Forced to disappear to protect the lives of her loved ones, Paige has spent the last several years building a quiet life as a small-town librarian. But the day a stranger comes to town and starts asking questions, Paige knows her careful existence has been shattered.

He is coming after her again. And this time, he intends to silence her for good....

Paige Rogers is a former CIA agent who lost all she treasured seven years ago when her entire team was killed in a covert mission. She blames their leader—Daniel Keary—whom Paige believes betrayed them. Disillusioned and afraid for her life, she disappeared and started a new life as a librarian in small town Split Creek, Oklahoma.

But her growing relationship with high school football coach Miles Laird and the political ambitions of her former boss threaten to unmask her. When Keary announces his candidacy for governor of her state, he comes after Paige to ensure that she won't ruin his bid for office by revealing his past misdeeds. He threatens everything she holds dear, and Paige must choose between the life of hiding that has become her refuge . . . or risking everything in one last, desperate attempt to right old wrongs.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Breach Of Trust, go HERE

Watch the Book Trailer:

I have enjoyed several of DiAnn Mills' books in the past, but she has risen to a whole new level with Breach of Trust. You'll need to buckle your seabelt - or perhaps fasten on a bulletproof vest! - before reading this outstanding and suspenseful novel. Paige Rogers has carefully molded and maintained her image as the quiet and reclusive librarian of Split Creek, Oklahoma, endearing many of her patrons to her with her weekly baked goods which she faithfully supplies each Thursday. The townspeople never suspect their friendly and culinary librarian carries a Beretta Px4 under the seat of her sports car. Or that she was once a CIA operative.

When her buried past starts coming back to haunt and threaten her, she wrestles with how to respond. Because since she disappeared from the CIA, she has become a Christian, and she struggles with "where God fit into the life of a CIA operative. If He fit at all." The world of spying and deception and assasinations suddenly has a whole new meaning for her. Unfortunately, someone else isn't nearly that concerned about the moral ramifications of wiping her off the face of the earth!

As if that weren't enough to keep her awake at night, there's the high school football coach who wants to be more than a friend, but she can't afford to let him get too close, in spite of her own growing affection. Besides, is he really who he appears to be? Is she the only one in town whose life isn't what it seems?

This is the first book in the Call of Duty series. The next one, Breach of Security, is due out in Spring, 2010 - something to look forward to!

And I can't wait to meet DiAnn Mills this weekend at the Christian Book Expo!

Happy Reading!


View blog reactions


A Stone Gatherer said...

Sounds like a great read!

Cindy said...

I've enjoyed your book reviews. Thank you for posting them.